Russia Ukraine News LIVE: Ukraine, Russia meet for peace talks

0

TThe conflict in Ukraine continues this Sunday, with several attacks taking place throughout Saturday night. There have already been many casualties on both sides Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and throughout the day we will keep you updated the latest developments from Kiev and across the country in this live blog Russia-Ukraine.

Ukraine-Russia conflict: pictures from the third day of the conflict

14:30 GMT / 08:30 CST: Arrests at anti-war protests in St. Petersburg

There have been several protest marches in cities across Russia, but the government has tried to crack down and several people were arrested at one of the rallies in St. Petersburg.

Arrests during anti-war protests in St. Petersburg

14:00 GMT / 08:00 CST: Ukrainian and Russian delegations meet for peace talks

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy has stated that the Ukrainian and Russian delegations will meet for peace talks and that there are no preconditions for these talks. They are expected to meet at the Ukraine-Belarusian border near the Pripyat River.

13:30 GMT / 07:30 CST: Putin puts Russia’s nuclear deterrent forces on high alert

Wladimir Putin has worked to put the Russian military’s nuclear deterrent forces on high alert. This is a reaction to aggressive statements by NATO countries and economic sanctions.

13:10 GMT / 07:10 CST: Ukraine wins the Battle of Kharkiv

According to Kharkiv’s governor Oleh Synyehubov, Ukraine have fended off a Russian attempt to take control of this city. There were street battles which he claims Ukraine won and some Russian soldiers have now surrendered.

12:45 GMT / 06:45 CST: Message from Anonymous to Putin

The Hacktivist Group Anonymous have declared cyber war on Russia and Putin, posting a video message for the Russian leader. “Your secrets may no longer be secure and there is a possibility that key components of your government’s infrastructure could be hijacked,” they warned.

12:10 GMT / 06:10 CST: Belarus will declare war on Ukraine

Andriy Zagorodnyuk, Ukraine’s former defense minister, has explained why he believes Belarus will also declare war on Ukraine. “The Republic of Belarus will most likely join the Russian war against Ukraine on the Russian side,” he said. “There is information about airborne troops from the Republic of Belarus loaded onto planes about to enter Ukraine. This is a terrible development as this is a country that has been a great friend of Ukraine.”

11:50 GMT / 05:50 CST: Belarus reportedly launches missiles into Ukraine

According to reports, the leader of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko claims missiles were fired from Belarus into Ukraine, apparently in response to Ukraine’s deployment of missile divisions near the border.

11:20 GMT / 05:20 CST: The number of refugees reaches 368,000

The UN refugee agency has issued an update claiming the number of Ukrainian refugees has reached 368,000 as people fled to Poland, Hungary, Moldova, Slovakia and Romania.

11:10 GMT / 05:10 CST: Ukraine files lawsuit against Russia in The Hague

Ukraine has filed a lawsuit against Russia in the International Court of Justice of the United Nations, the country’s president Volodymyr Zelenskyy has said. This court in The Hague settles international disputes and Zelenskyj wants an order issued against Russia.

10:40 GMT / 04:40 CST: 4,300 Russian troops have been killed so far

Ukraine’s Defense Ministry has claimed that around 4,300 Russian soldiers have been killed so far, with 706 Russian APCs, 146 tanks, 27 planes and 26 helicopters destroyed since the conflict began.

10:00 GMT / 04:00 CST: Russian troops bypass Chernihiv

A report by the British Ministry of Defense says that Russian forces are bypassing Chernihiv because they have encountered strong resistance there. Instead, they want to focus on encircling and isolating Kiev.

09:15 GMT / 03:15 CST: More than $14 million in crowdfunding for the Ukrainian military

Minister of Digital Transformation of Ukraine Mikhail Fedorov has announced that over $14 million has been crowdfunded online and that money will be used to support the Ukrainian military.

08:45 GMT / 02:45 CST: Russian banks will be removed from the Swift system

The international bank payment system Swift will block certain Russian banks from accessing the system after calls from several countries. “We are working with European authorities to understand the details of the companies subject to the new measures and are preparing to comply with legal guidance,” Swift said in a statement.

08:20 GMT / 02:20 CST: Russia may plant nuclear weapons in Belarus

A referendum is to be quickly organized and held in Belarus this Sunday, the outcome of which may allow Russia to station nuclear weapons in the area and aim them at Ukraine. Several media report about it, although the Belarusian President Lukashenko is said to have denied this in a telephone call macron.

08:00 GMT / 02:00 CST: Ukraine rejects negotiations

According to the Russian speaker Dmitry Peskov told reporters a Russian delegation had arrived in Belarus for talks with Ukraine, the President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelenskyy has said he would be willing to speak, but not in Belarus as they “have shown aggression towards Ukraine”.

07:30 GMT: / 01:30 CST: Russian troops entered Kharkiv

Kharkiv, a city in north-eastern Ukraine, was embroiled in heavy fighting during the night, with its governor confirming that Russian troops have entered the city. Ordinary citizens have been urged to stay indoors and seek shelter.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.